loadpornmovies.com Moore secures Gurston Down title on final day
Moore secures Gurston Down title on final day PDF Print E-mail
Motor Sports - Latest Motor Sports News
Written by Mike Turner   
Wednesday, 16 September 2015 14:44

GURSTON Down's 2015 finale attracted a good crowd on Sunday as well as some surprisingly good weather for some superb speed hillclimbing action.

Stephen Moore from Stapleford (pictured) was once again on terrific form in the Janspeed 2.0t Mitsubishi Evo 6, winning the over 2000cc modified series production class with a time just three hundredths of a second shy of the class record he set back in July.

The win ensured Moore became a very deserving winner of the overall 2015 Meadens Skoda Gurston Down Hillclimb Championship, with a clean sweep of class wins and that class record.

BTD went to Wantage’s Peter D. Smith in his 1.6 Force with a storming 29.15 seconds charge on his last run of the season.

Local drivers took home medals in a number of the classes.

In the TR Cars Nick Smith finished third in his 2.6 Triumph TR6 while Steve Harris from Redlynch also took third place in his 1.8 Vauxhall Corsa in the roadgoing series production class up to 2000cc.

In the over 2000cc marque sports car class Steve Holley was in determined mood in his 5.2 TVR Griffith and he too finished in third place.

Meanwhile, in the up to 2000cc sports libre class the 1.3s Empire Evo of the Wilton Racing duo Chris Cannell and Sue Hayes eventually succumbed to clutch problems, but not before Chris had done enough to secure second in class with his first timed run.


Other Wiltshire drivers


Steve Luscombe from Warminster was fourth in the MG Cars class in his 1.4 MG Midget with Gurston regular Mark Walker from Trowbridge, delivering his 3.9 Porsche Cayman S to second place in the combined over 2000cc modified series production car class.

Fellow Gurston regular Hugh Kemp from Wylye had to retire his lovely 1.6 Palliser WDF3 from the Historically Interesting class with a failed wheel bearing.


Devon, Dorset, Hampshire and Somerset drivers


Roderick Warner from Mapledurwell, the hot favourite in the TR Cars class in his 3.5 TR7 V8, duly delivered the class win.

In the popular up to 2000cc roadgoing series production class Paul Webster from Fareham was back in fourth place after the first timed runs but came through for the win in his1.9 Mazda MX5. Tim Forster from Winchester was less than half a second behind for the runner up spot in his 1.7 Lotus Elan.

The over 2000cc roadgoing series production class took an unexpected turn when hot favourite Simon Neve from Yeovil had to use a different car for the event, his usual 2.3t Mitsubish Evo 6 suffering mechanical maladies. The replacement earlier model Evo took Simon to second place on the day and 3rd overall in the Gurston Championship. Class winner on the day was a delighted Clive Stangle from Shaftesbury who has impressed in his 1.8 Audi TT Quattro this season.

In the roadgoing specialist production class Piers Thynne from Hartley Wintney set two quick and consistent times in his 1.3 turbocharged Westfield Megabusa to win from Steve Holland from Portsmouth (1.6 Caterham Hayabusa) and Andrew Forsyth from Blandford (1.3 Westfield Megabusa).

Nick Morgan from Axbridge won the up to 2000cc marque sports car class in his 1.8 Lotus Elise.

In the over 2000cc marque sports car class the outgoing Gurston Champion Simon Purcell from Charlton Horethorne took his 1.8 supercharged Lotus Exige to the win on the day and the class championship win.

The up to 1400cc modified series production class continued to be dominated by Neil Turner from Andover in his 1.4 Mini Cooper ‘S’, and he took the win on the day and in the class championship.

Antony Orchard from Wareham had to come from behind in the up to 2000cc modified specialist production class in his 1.3 Westfield ‘Bakerbusa’, but he carved over four tenths of his first run time to take the win by 38 hundredths.

The Historically Interesting class saw Geoff Hunt from Andover on form to win in his lovely 1.6 Lotus 22.

The up to 2000cc sports libre class saw Jonathan Gates from Brockenhurst take his 1.3 supercharged Force LM to an excellent class win which also bumped him up to second overall in the Gurston Championship.

In the over 2000cc sports libre class sees Keith Diggle from Aldershot took the win in his superb 2.2 WEV HCS.

In a good class of 500 Owners Association racing cars Mark Riley from Frome finished third in his 500cc Creamer.

James Moore from Frome had to be content with third place in a close-fought up to 1100cc racing car class. James, driving his 1.1 OMS 2000M, was just was just six hundredths behind winner Tony Levitt on the day but he did tie up the class championship.

Simon McBeath from Sturminster Newton took his 1.6 Swift to the class win in the Pre-1994 Formula Ford class and also did enough to take the class championship as season-long rival Andrew Abbey from Fareham crashed his 1.6 Jamun M91 on his first timed run, fortunately without injury.

Adrian Moody and Barry Moignard from Jersey had a close battle once again in the 1.6 Ralt RT3 they share in the Pre-1985 Racing Car class, Moignard this time taking the verdict by just a tenth of a second.

In the up to 1600cc racing car class Peter D. Smith from Wantage won in his 1.6 Force and also set Best Time of the Day with the day’s only sub-30 second climb of 29.15 seconds.

In the up to 2000cc racing car class the Marsh brothers Simon and Peter from Andover and East Wellow respectively made a welcome return to Gurston with Simon’s new 1.3s DJ Firehawk and they took a very promising 1-2 with Peter bagging the win. We can expect to see more Marsh family battles in this class next year.

The venue's 2016 season will get underway on April 16/17 with two packed days of top club hillclimbing. Keep up to speed during the close season at www.gurstondown.org and www.facebook.com/GurstonDownSpeedHillclimb

Last Updated on Wednesday, 16 September 2015 14:56

Golfing Tips


Golf Tips

Andy Beal from Salisbury & South Wilts Golf Club explains to sport4salisbury.com how to play the perfect chip shot.