loadpornmovies.com Awards to be handed out at Wessex's summer party
Awards to be handed out at Wessex's summer party PDF Print E-mail
Point-to-Point - Latest Point-to-Point News
Written by Sport4Salisbury Reporter   
Tuesday, 18 June 2013 12:02

THE Wessex Point-to-Point Area’s six main awards, sponsored this season for the first time by Spillers Horsefeeds, will be presented at next month's Summer Party to be held at the George Albert Hotel near Evershot.

Leading gentleman rider is Cornishman Will Biddick, who was also crowned National Champion at Saturday’s Torrington Farmers meeting at Umberleigh, Devon.

Biddick rode 38 winners this season, 26 of which were on Wessex courses, and many provided by Seaborough handler Richard Barber, who took both the national and inaugural Wessex Area Trainer (for yards housing more than ten horses) titles.

Barber employee Martin McIntyre completed a hat-trick of wins for the Seaborough yard by taking the national and Wessex Area novice rider titles.

Emily MacMahon won the leading lady rider contest for the first time, thanks to her prolific partnership with Master Medic, whose five Wessex Area wins gained the Leading Owner Award for New York-based Jim Chromiak (racing as The Pell-Mell Partners).

Master Medic’s Okeford Fitzpaine trainer Sally Alner wins the inaugural Area Trainer’s title (fewer than ten horses).

Wessex also achieved further success on the national stage with Champagne Rosie. Trained at Sutton Montis by first season handler Charlotte Davis, John Meaden’s seven-year-old was the runaway winner of the National Leading Novice Mare Award.

Martin McIntyre also triumphed in the two Badbury Rings/Milborne St Andrew awards – the Dick & Sue Woodhouse Memorial Challenge Cup, jointly with last season’s winner Louis Muspratt, and the Eric Dymott Novice Riders Trophy, where Muspratt finished just one point behind in second.

Other memorial awards include the John Dufosee Trophy for the most successful owner-rider in Wessex, won by Lucy Gould (Special Occasion) and the Angie Burrough Trophy for the best rider at her three favourite meetings, won by Josh Guerriero.

Welcome new sponsors for 2013 were estate agents Greenslade Taylor Hunt, who provided an award for the most successful horse on courses in the west of the area. The winner was Lucy Gould’s Special Occasion.

At Larkhill Racecourse, Master Medic gained further glory as Leading Horse in the Larkhill Specialist Awards.

Richard Barber regained his place as leading trainer after being pipped at the post last year by Stuart Penny.

Runaway leading jockey was area champion Will Biddick.

Only three points separated the top three for the Leading Owner-Trainer title, which was won by Tom Lacey, followed by El Tanner and Edward Magor. Likewise, Felix Wheeler took the Leading Owner-Rider award, closely followed by Caroline Dennis and David Renney.

Further information and tickets for the Summer Party, to be held on Saturday, July 20, can be obtained from Sarah Barber on 01460 74943 or by emailing This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Golfing Tips


Golf Tips

Andy Beal from Salisbury & South Wilts Golf Club explains to sport4salisbury.com how to play the perfect chip shot.